McCall Research Group Illinois

McCall named Alumni Research Scholar

Benjamin McCall
May 14, 2013 - 11:05 AM

The Department of Chemistry recently named Ben McCall an Alumni Research Scholar.

This award provides an amount of unrestricted annual research support for a five year period. It is broadly similar to a named chair, but is supported by multiple donations from departmental alumni, rather than from a single donor. Other faculty in the department who have received this award include Andy Gewirth, Greg Girolami, Martin Gruebele, So Hirata, and Scott Silverman.

The following is an excerpt from the award letter:

"The Department of Chemistry is pleased to offer you an Alumni Research Scholar Award. This award is provided in appreciation of your productivity and continued success in research, your high level of departmental service, and your personal commitment as a teacher and mentor to our students...This award recognizes that you have set and continue to set high standards for excellence, and we thank you again for your extraordinary contributions."